Cannes Palme d'Or goes to Ruben Ostlund's "The Square"

Tina Ray
May 29, 2017

When Ostlund did not get an Oscar nomination in 2015, he good-naturedly released a video that included what he called a "worst man cry". (AP Photo/Alastair Grant) Director Ruben Ostlund, centre, with his Palme d'Or award for his film The Square, presented by actress Juliette Binoche, left, and jury president Pedro Almodovar during the awards ceremony at the 70th worldwide film festival, Cannes, southern France, Sunday, May 28, 2017. He asked photographers in the pit below the stage at the Lumiere Theatre to turn their cameras on the audience and led all attendees in a primal scream "of happiness".

"I'm overcome", Kruger said.

In her first film role in her native German, Hollywood star and former model Diane Kruger swapped her usually glamorous image to play a mother who vows revenge after her ethnic Kurdish husband and son are killed in a neo-Nazi attack. The actress, who works largely in French and American cinema, gave a shout-out to those affected by terrorism, particularly the folks left behind. "Please know that you are not forgotten". He sported Converse sneakers, apologising that his proper shoes already had been sent home. The screenwriting award went to both Yorgos Lanthimos, from Greece, for The Killing of a Sacred Deer, and the British filmmaker Lynne Ramsay for You Were Never Really Here.

A special prize to mark the film festival's 70th anniversary was awarded to Nicole Kidman. "Last week was like a dream".

Collecting her award, the "Bling Ring" director thanked her father - "Apocalypse Now" director Francis Ford Coppola - for teaching her the tricks of the trade.

Coppola's remake is a feminist adaptation of Clint Eastwood's 1971 version of the film, which is about a girls school in 1864 Virginia and the events that take place when some of the pupils discover a wounded Union Army soldier. Coppola is only the second female director to be celebrated in Cannes' 70-year history, following in the footsteps of Yuliya Solntseva, who won the award for Chronicle of Flaming Years back in 1961. The movies will not gain wide theatrical distribution and therefore seem unlikely to win after Almodovar opened the festival by saying the prize should not go a movie not shown on the big screen. The French AIDS drama "120 Beats Per Minute" won the Grand Prize from the jury.

Stay tuned to this space for hot updates and latest scoop...

Other reports by TheDigitalNewspaper

Discuss This Article